I've just read Ginger Simpson's SHORTCOMINGS and it made me think back about my own life as a teenager. Ginger did a super job of portraying a girl's exaggerated angst over a minor deformity. Good job, Ginger, and I hope all who read this will go to Muse It Up Publishing and pick up a copy of your book.
First, for any who don't know, I'm a man. For reasons not related to gender, I picked my pen name, and have unintentionally misled some readers. After writing a couple of mainstream stories and a psych thriller, I decided to attempt a romance to see if a man could successfully write one. When  I got responses to submissions addressing me as a woman, I realized that I had done it.
Now, back to teens and their individual 'mine-fields' of social acceptance and mating rituals. It is hard to imagine a young woman or man as still a child in development, but that's just what is happening. In an age when physical maturity seems to be peaking ever earlier.  It is sometimes difficult to remember that these kids have nothing from which to judge interaction with their peers. Add to that, the built-in inclination to find and bond with someone, an inclination that also has no past to judge from. Is it any wonder that so many kids are insecure in the modern jungles we label as schools?
I recommend Ginger's book to any parent with a teen child. Reading it won't solve your paranting problems, but it will help you guide your youngsters through the swamp. JMHO. And for writers who tackle this genre, I urge you to give your young readers some characters they can identify with, and hopefully they will be better prepared for their own lives as they blossom into adults.
Thanks for dropping by, and leave a comment if you are so inclined. Hap
5/31/2011 01:06:44 am

To say I am humbled is an understatement. There is nothing more rewarding than a positive and unsolicited review, and I thank you for picking my book as a recommended read. That means a lot to me.

Reply
5/31/2011 01:27:59 am

I also read Ginger's book and I couldn't agree with you more. This is a must read for both parents and teenagers.

Reply



Leave a Reply.